Appalachian Power VML/VACo Steering Committee

The Appalachian Power (APCo) VML/VACo Steering Committee is a committee of local government representatives that negotiate the contract for electricity services with APCo on behalf of all local governments in Appalachian Power territory. Each local government technically has a designated contact on the Steering Committee; however, local governments must pay a fee to the Steering Committee to support attorney fees and other costs associated with negotiating the contract. Unfortunately, the list of designated contacts is kept confidential and not released to the public. The individuals below are those who participated in the meetings in 2019.

Read more about the background and purpose of the APCo VML/VACo Steering Committee here.

NameLocalityPositionEmail
C. James Ervin (Chair)Town of Rocky MountManagerjervin@rockymountva.org
Mark JamisonCity of RoanokeDirector of Public Worksmark.jamison@roanokeva.gov
Laura CariniCity of RoanokeDeputy City AttorneyLaura.Carini@roanokeva.gov
Barry W. ThompsonTown of Vintonbthompson@vintonva.gov
Sarah CarterTown of Amherstsara.carter@amherstva.gov
Dean LynchVirginia Association of CountiesExec. Directordlynch@vaco.org
Scott ShirleyWest Virginia Water Authorityscott.shirley@westernvawater.org
Chris WhitlowFranklin Countyadministration@franklincountyva.gov
John ClarkTown of Chilhowiechilhowie.townmgr@chilhowie.org
Michelle GowdyVirginia Municipal LeagueExecutive Directormgowdy@vml.org
Sandra HarringtonVirginia Municipal LeagueGovernment Relations Associatesharrington@vml.org
Robert D. PerrowWilliams MullenLegal Counsel for the Steering Committeebperrow@williamsmullen.com
John L. Walker, IIILegal Counsel for the Steering Committeejwalker@williamsmullen.com
Rob LightCounty of Roanoke Director of General Servicesrlight@roanokecountyva.gov
Scott WoodrumMontgomery CountyDirector of Environmental Serviceswoodrumsa@montgomerycountyva.gov
Phyllis ErricoVirginia Association of Countiesperrico@vaco.org